Illustrated Journal #1

After the first two weeks of school at Alfred State, I am still getting used to my new program.  I had a couple projects so far, but the one that gave the most difficulty was my point and line project for Visual Communications.  For this project, we had to find materials that make a metaphor for our name, first, last, or nickname.Of course the first thing I had to come up with was what would I possibly use?  I decided on using my last name, Ruf, so what I came up with was something that was rough.  It took me a while to figure out what to use, but after a few conversations over email with my professor, I finally came up with using a road and a zipper that was on one of my Lacrosse jackets from High School.  I used the road as the background and the jacket zipper onto unzipping to reveal the road behind it.  In order to do that I had to use Adobe Photoshop to get the image how I wanted.  After that I had to recreate the image again over in Adobe Illustrator.  As for spelling my last name, I drew rocks in over the portion of my jacket that had my name stitched into it to spell it out, adding yet another rough object into my project and making it complete.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

